Banana bread (not overly sweet)

When I made this I didn’t have ripe bananas so I used underripe ones. I was still very tasty. Don’t worry too much about the colour of your bananas. As long as they aren’t green, you’re probably good. The original recipe is from Handle the Heat and all credit goes to Tessa. Her version was topped with a chocolate glaze, but I left it out. If you want it, head over to her website or, if you’re an experienced baker, make your own.

Many recipes call for mixing the dry ingredients together, then mixing the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, and adding dry to wet. I don’t think I’ve ever done that. I read the step but I never want to add to the amount of dishes I have to wash, so I skip it. This recipe was no different.

All my recipes are in grams. If you are a cup kind of person you’ll do better to check the original recipe over on Handle the Heat. For all my conversions, I use http://dish.allrecipes.com/cup-to-gram-conversions/ or my own judgment (particularly when it’s a liquid).

Preheating your over to 180C/350F would be advised.

Ingredients:

160 gr flour

150 gr sugar (I used white caster sugar, although the recipe didn’t specify)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda (do not confuse these two)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon each, cinnamon and nutmeg (ground, obviously)

3 mashed bananas (the more spotted/ripe, the sweeter your bread)

2 eggs (it says large, but can anyone really tell the difference? As long as they’re not tiny, you should be fine)

115 gr butter, melted and cooled (this step confused me. Was I to measure the butter once melted or before? I measured it first, then melted it and made a fine bread. Feel free to play around [at your own peril of course].)

170 gr plain yoghurt (it says half a cup so I guessed it would be similar to the molasses/honey/syrup measurements in the link I shared earlier)

1 teaspoon vanilla

What made most sense to me was to melt the butter first, then pour it into the bowl so it would cool faster (as it was more spread out). Once that’s cooled, add your bananas, eggs, yoghurt and vanilla and whisk (or mix using a handmixer) until combined. Add all the dry ingredients (I tend to mix the small stuff in first, so spices, salt, baking powder and soda, mix, then add the flour) and mix until just combined.

Bake for 55 minutes on 180C (or 350F), until a toothpick comes out clean.

2hwmjxt

^^ Example of what the end result should look like. Alternatively, proof I actually made this before sharing it.

Personally, I gave it a 7/10 rating but my mum, who prefers her desserts not to be overly sweet, was more excited about it. Still, easy as cake (and delicious as one, too). Enjoy.

My birthday is coming up and I intend to make my own cake (tart?) rather than buy one, so that recipe should be up over the course of next week. Additionally, I intend to share one of my short stories (in a separate post but in the same week).

Author: arthurduchannes

Writer, lover of food, interested in a little bit of everything

Leave a Reply

