The minute of free time I have…

Like the title suggests, I am VERY busy these days. I have an important university deadline 11 days from now and I’m awfully behind. Still, until I can get my creative writing out of my mind I won’t be able to focus on it.

I’ve had some lovely breakthroughs. I finally wrote out my planning for In the eye of the beholder and figured out half the storyline for Unusual (both to be found on my Wattpad page, if interested). (01-08-2017 edit)

And I’ve had some disappointments. I find I seriously dislike the first few chapters of In the eye of the beholder, but can’t figure out how to fix them. I’m desperate for feedback but haven’t received any in a long time, and when I did it wasn’t useful.

By the way, anyone seen that Grey’s Anatomy season finale? Holy shit. I need more, now please. Wow. They never disappoint. I find I deal with relationships (of any kind) much like Owen Hunt does, even though we’re completely different in other aspects of our personalities. Aside from that, I really want Minnick gone for good. I don’t like her character at all, I don’t like how (SPOILER) Arizona forgave her so quickly, their entire relationship sucks.

I can’t really think straight right now so if this blog post doesn’t make sense, my apologies. I’ll end it now. I would just like to remind everyone that I really suck at titles. Now, without further ado, I present to you another (very) short story:

Weapons Of Ancient Egypt

345 B.C.

Nectanebo II, pharaoh of Egypt for the past 15 years, was pacing in his chambers. He was on the verge of making a tough decision that all his advisors were opposed to. He didn’t care; he had to do it.

Many years ago, Persians had taken control over Egypt. Horror stories about that period were prevalent but Nectanebo knew it couldn’t have been so bad. Still, once the last Persian had been kicked off the throne, the great Amyrtaeus wanted to make certain such a tragedy would not occur again. He collected the brightest minds of the kingdom to help him create a superweapon. Unfortunately he was killed before the weapon could be put to use.

Baenne Nefaarud I, his killer and next pharaoh, had learnt of the weapon and claimed it as his own idea. He put it to use and soon his kingdom flourished. The creators, so fearful of the pharaoh they didn’t dare contradict him, were allowed to live, provided they continued to work, this time on improving the weapon.

Half a century later, Egypt seemed unconquerable. They had used the machines to build pyramids, to battle the enemy, and to control the citizens. The apple of Nectanebo’s eye was his temple dedicated to the Goddess Isis. Everything seemed perfect.

But Nectanebo did not have a suitable heir to the throne who he could trust with these weapons. They flew in the air without need for a pilot. It was marvellous. Yet he deemed them too dangerous in the wrong hands.

He suspected one of his servants would betray him for possession of the throne and he could not allow for them to have these weapons. The world would end, war would prevail until mankind was nearly extinct. He would not be the cause of this. He would rather let Egypt fall into Persian hands one more.

So tomorrow he was to announce these weapons would be destroyed and all writing about them as well. He had even hired some artists to replace images of these flying vehicles with other works of art. History was not to repeat itself, not with this matter. He would make sure.

#

‘’You cannot do this, Nectanebo,’’ his closest advisor and old friend told him. ‘’You will destroy Egypt.’’

‘’I will not allow that, my friend. Believe me, I am doing this for Egypt. My name will likely be forgotten but I will die in peace knowing I prevented a massacre of gigantic proportions.’’

‘’But the Persians! They’ll kill you without second thought. They will kill all of us. You cannot allow this to happen!’’ the young man yelled, upset.

‘’We will keep them at bay. And if we fail, it is because my predecessors let out soldiers slack. We may have these new weapons but we still need our soldiers to be strong.’’

‘’How can you speak so lightly? Do you not care for the kingdom? Do you not care… for me?’’ the man spoke, fresh tears staining his face. Nectanebo’s heart flooded with regret. He did care, for his kingdom and for his dear friend. Could he truly not understand Nectanebo’s reasoning? He wasn’t doing this out of spite. He was doing it out of love, love for humanity. Even if they were both killed it would have been worth it. And they would meet again, in the next life.

He pulled the man close to him. The least he could do was provide some comfort.

#

Nectanebo woke early next morning. He was going over his speech in his head, making sure it would be perfect, when one of his advisors stepped into his chambers.

‘’Pharaoh, if I may address you, I kneel before you as your humble servant.’’

‘’Speak what you came to say,’’ Nectanebo ordered him, not in the mood to listen to the man’s empty praise.

‘’Pharaoh, I thank you and beg for your forgiveness. What I am about to say is nothing short of insubordination but I dare say it despite this fact. I believe you are making a mistake, dearest pharaoh, wise king. I beg of you only to think once more, consider the consequences of what you are about to do, oh pharaoh.’’

Nectanebo was tired of listening to the man. ‘’Leave.’’

‘’B-but pharaoh,’’ the man stuttered.

‘’Now.’’

His advisor left, muttering something under his breath that Nectanebo couldn’t hear. The man should be kissing his feet for allowing him to live. Nectanebo did not have time for this. He had made up his mind and would execute his plan.

#

‘’People of Egypt, I stand before you as your pharaoh. I have gathered you here because I have made a decision. We have all grown accustomed to having these droning flying vehicles around but this will change. Within seven spins of the earth I want all these vehicles brought here, where I will have them destroyed. I have ordered some artists to remove every hint of these weapons from our writing as well as our art. The transition will not be easy but I ask you to have faith in me, your pharaoh.’’

The crowd was silent for several minutes. Then one man started chanting ‘’all hail the pharaoh,’’ repeatedly and surprisingly melodiously. Soon others followed his lead until the entire crowd was chanting. Tears appeared in Nectanebo’s eyes. These were his people and they would do anything for him. He vowed to do everything for them.

#

The Persians kept their distance for several moons before they realised the sky was suspiciously empty. They were closing in and Nectanebo had to send all his soldiers into battle. As more moons passed he was running low on men and the Persians were getting closer every day. He appealed to his people, asking them to fight for him, for their kingdom.

The amount of volunteers shocked him, moving him to tears once more. he sent them out with everything they could possibly need yet they were bound to lose without help of the weapons he had destroyed. He awarded their families with all he could spare but it never felt like enough.

Soon, he was allowing women and elderly to fight too. He had little choice. The people, his people, continued to have faith in him. He could not let them down. He tried one final battle strategy.

#

‘’Nectanebo, they failed!’’ the pharaoh’s friend told him, having run all the way from the outside of the gates, where he had spotted the messenger.

‘’They failed! Did you hear me? What are we to do now?’’

Nectanebo put a hand on his friend’s shoulder. ‘’There is little we can do, my dear friend. The Persians are coming. I say let them come. We will gather everyone who is left and willing to fight and when they come, we will fight with all our might.’’

‘’But Nectanebo!’’ the young man yelled, in a panic now.

‘’Hush, my dear, it will be alright. Trust me.’’

The man looked at his closest friend and saw the determination in his eyes. He nodded. He would trust his dear pharaoh.

#

All the men, women, and children were gathered behind the gates. They had all been more than willing to fight for their pharaoh. He had equipped them as best as he could but he knew they stood little chance. He was among his people, alongside his friend. They would fight until the end.

A young boy came running through the gates, excitement and awe visible on his face. ‘’They’re coming!’’

And sure enough the first row of Persians appeared in the distance, from the northeast. Nectanebo grabbed his friend’s hand and reassuringly squeezed it. He was ready to fight with all his might, alongside the people he cared for so deeply. ‘’To battle!’’ he yelled.

The year was 343 B.C.

Fin

Author: arthurduchannes

Writer, lover of food, interested in a little bit of everything

Leave a Reply

